Cancer: a public health imperative 04/02/2022 | Article

Scientific and technological advances now mean that curing some types of cancer is no longer a pipe dream. In addition to better disease control, interdisciplinarity will be one of the main components of this transformation. As with other areas of medicine, funding will be a key driver for change.


The official data are irrevocable1. Cancer caused ten million deaths in 2020, making it the second leading cause of death worldwide. According to IARC [International Agency for Research on Cancer], a third of these deaths were directly linked to five major risk factors: namely, obesity, diet, physical condition, alcohol and tobacco. Tobacco is the primary cause of the deadliest of all cancers, i.e. lung cancer, which accounts for 18% of deaths. Another key feature is the sharp rise in the number of cancer cases, with nineteen million new cases detected. Breast, lung, colon, prostate and skin cancer are the most represented in terms of incidence. To put it more starkly, the key criticality indicators show how far we have to go to reduce the social, human and financial impacts of cancer, whose annual cost is estimated at $1,160 billion2. In addition to wider access to increasingly sophisticated treatments, prevention and early detection have been identified as two key parameters. In imperative terms, the further scaling of existing services would also be profitable, potentially yielding $12.43 for each dollar invested3.

 

Significant progress

Driven by dynamic research, we have witnessed several major advances over the past decade. “Advances have been made as a result of a better understanding of the disease, its risk factors and the circumstances of its occurrence,” says Professor Fabrice Barlesi, Managing Director of Gustave Roussy. More preventative, especially thanks to advances in the area of screening, cancer medicine is now undeniably more accurate. Scientific knowledge is no stranger to this phenomenon. “The (almost completed) molecular genotyping of cancers has boosted the development of highly targeted therapeutic strategies that have significantly improved the care of many patients.” A radical development which has also encouraged the advent of immunotherapy. “This new approach, which restores the activity of the immune system, has produced very interesting results in diseases with a very poor prognosis, such as melanoma or lung cancer”, observes Fabrice Barlesi. In his opinion, this has very significantly extended the life expectancy in 15-20% of patients treated with immunotherapy. In another major trend, the arrival of CAR-T cells has undeniably opened up new prospects in the treatment of haematological cancers, validated by initial successes. This promising technology could now be applied in the field of solid tumours.

 

Realistic expectations

To take the next step, scientists will have to overcome many challenges. “We need to find a way to circumvent the primary resistances that make immunotherapies ineffective in some patients, either by combining them together, or by associating them with other treatments”, explains Professor Barlesi. Other issues include the problems involved in better controlling the disease. Like CAR-T cells, the development of new cell therapies and targeted therapies should help in this area. However, anticipation will be one of the watchwords of the transformation. “We must be able to create avatars of a tumour to allow us to test and identify the most suitable therapeutic solutions for each patient. We need to act upstream of the treatment to optimise its chances of success.” Long neglected, post-cancer management will also be a major avenue for progress, particularly in children. The objective is clear: to minimise the impact of treatments and disease to enable patients to live as long as possible, and in the best possible conditions. To achieve this ideal, we will need to overcome several obstacles. “Interdisciplinarity will be the primary driver of any breakthrough innovation. And this combination of experience and expertise will be our strength”, assures Fabrice Barlesi.

 

Major financial challenges

As with other areas of medicine, investment will be a key driver for change. “The impetus could be driven by States or major academic institutions, but it will absolutely need to be supported by private funding and philanthropy”, comments Professor Barlesi. Increasingly sophisticated, cancer treatments will require increased financial resources to stimulate research. Due to the wide variety of diseases, the focus will be more on subgroups of patients, not without increasing the cost of the programmes initiated. Although essential, public-private partnerships will no longer be sufficient. “Investment funds should contribute to facilitate the discovery and support the distribution of new medicinal products.” One of the examples mentioned is the Boston cluster, which is an embodiment of “the way forward”. This emulation is a guarantee of speed and efficiency, but it is subject to conditions: “More open to opportunities in the health sector, financial operators will have to accept the risk inherent in any scientific research. To alleviate the burden of this uncertainty, they will need to rely on specialist advice. And confidence will be a determining parameter in the investment decision.” One thing is certain: academic, industrial and financial worlds will have to cooperate more closely for the common good. The fairly optimistic Professor Barlesi firmly believes in the theory of de-compartmentalisation for the benefit of patients.

 

The path to a cure

Long considered an incurable disease, cancer could become “merely” a chronic disease. With the announced advances in treatment, could its eradication be envisaged in the medium term? “A cure, in the strict sense of the term, seems totally illusory. The disease could nevertheless become a bump in the road that in most cases people manage to overcome. We are currently curing almost half of all cancers. And this percentage could reach two-thirds by the middle of the century,” announces Professor Barlesi. Beyond drug treatments alone, prevention and education will play a key role in the process. “To achieve this goal, the fight against smoking, alcohol consumption and malnutrition will need to be supported by more proactive public policies. The systematic roll-out of the vaccination against cancer of the cervix should follow this same approach.” Early screening is also a critical component. “The sooner we manage to detect the disease, the better we will be able to treat it! At the very least, it guarantees that cancer patients return faster to society and enjoy a longer life expectancy.” In this area, artificial intelligence could both contribute to scientific knowledge and refine the diagnostic accuracy. “Simplicity, accessibility and fairness will be three determining variables in encouraging patient support”, concludes Fabrice Barlesi.

Partner of the PRISM project, the national precision medicine centre launched by Gustave Roussy, Paris-Saclay University, CentraleSupélec and Inserm, which were later joined by Unicancer and ARC, Candriam will contribute to the fight against cancer. Through its network of experts, it will target developments, projects and solutions that are the most beneficial to the community.

 

 

World Cancer Day: the challenge of (re)cognition

To achieve fairer care! This year World Cancer Day will focus on understanding and recognising inequities in cancer care. This event will be an opportunity to challenge the status quo which results in the loss of too many human lives. Treatment, prevention, screening… Particular emphasis will be placed on access to essential health services, which ostensibly varies according to income, level of education and geographical location. In addition to reducing discrimination linked to ethnic origin, gender, sexual orientation, disabilities and lifestyles, the international community will also have to take up the challenge of knowledge. “Informing, raising awareness and educating populations, especially the youngest, will be key in the fight against cancer”, restates Professor Fabrice Barlesi, the managing director of Gustave Roussy.

 

 

Blood test: a very encouraging discovery

This is a major breakthrough. Researchers at Oxford University* have managed to develop a blood test able to detect early cancer in people with unexplained symptoms, such as weight loss or fatigue. Unable to identify the type of tumour, this tool would nevertheless be able to identify the possible presence of metastases with an efficiency of 94%. Based on nuclear magnetic resonance-based metabolomic analysis, which has been successful in screening for multiple sclerosis, it has been tested on blood samples from 300 patients. It now needs to be tested on a larger scale to confirm the promising initial findings.

(*) “Metabolomic biomarkers in blood samples identify cancers in a mixed population of patients with nonspecific symptoms”, Clinical Cancer Research (January 2022).

 


1“Global cancer statistics 2020: GLOBOCAN estimates of incidence and mortality worldwide for 36 cancers in 185 countries”, International agency for research on cancer (December 2020).

2“Assessing national capacity for the prevention and control of noncommunicable diseases: Report of the 2019 global survey”, World Health Organization (March 2020).

3“Global costs, health benefits, and economic benefits of scaling up treatment and imaging modalities for survival of 11 cancers: a simulation-based analysis”, The Lancet Oncology (March 2021).

Cancer : un impératif de santé publique 04/02/2022 | Article

Soutenue par les progrès scientifiques et technologiques, la guérison de certains cancers ne relève plus de l’utopie. Outre un meilleur contrôle de la maladie, l’interdisciplinarité sera l’un des principaux leviers de la transformation. Comme souvent, le financement sera le moteur du changement.


Les données officielles sont sans appel1. Deuxième cause de mortalité dans le monde, le cancer a provoqué dix millions de décès en 2020. Selon le CIRC, un tiers d’entre eux sont directement liés à cinq grands facteurs de risque : l’obésité, l’alimentation, la condition physique, l’alcool et le tabac, principal responsable du cancer le plus meurtrier, celui du poumon… qui concentre 18 % des victimes. Autre caractéristique notable : le cancer est une maladie en pleine expansion avec dix-neuf millions de nouveaux cas détectés. Ceux du sein, du poumon, du colon, de la prostate et de la peau sont les plus représentés en termes d’incidence. Explicites, les principaux indicateurs de criticité témoignent du chemin qui reste à parcourir pour réduire les impacts sociaux, humains et financiers du cancer, dont la charge annuelle est estimée 1 160 milliards de dollars2. Outre un accès élargi à des traitements de plus en plus sophistiqués, la prévention et le dépistage précoce seront deux paramètres essentiels. Impérative, la mise à l’échelle des services existants serait aussi rentable : elle pourrait rapporter 12,43 dollars par dollar investi3.

 

Des progrès significatifs

Portées par une recherche dynamique, plusieurs avancées majeures ont été observées durant la dernière décennie. « Elles résultent d’une meilleure compréhension de la maladie, de ses facteurs de risque et de ses circonstances de survenue », estime le Pr Fabrice Barlesi, directeur général de Gustave Roussy. Plus préventive, notamment grâce aux progrès effectués dans le domaine du dépistage, la médecine oncologique a indéniablement gagné en précision. La connaissance scientifique n’est pas étrangère à ce phénomène. « Le génotypage moléculaire des cancers, en grande partie achevé, a facilité la mise au point de stratégies thérapeutiques ciblées très efficaces qui ont sensiblement amélioré la prise en charge de nombreux patients. » Une évolution radicale qui a également favorisé l’avènement de l’immunothérapie. « Cette nouvelle approche, qui permet de rétablir l’activité du système immunitaire, a produit des résultats très intéressants dans des maladies au pronostic très sévère, comme les mélanomes ou les cancers du poumon », constate Fabrice Barlesi. Selon lui, 15 à 20 % des patients traités par immunothérapie ont vu leur espérance de vie très significativement prolongée. Autre tendance lourde : l’arrivée des CAR-T cells trace incontestablement de nouvelles perspectives dans le traitement des cancers hématologiques, validées par de premiers succès. Prometteuse, cette technologie doit désormais être déclinée dans le champ des tumeurs solides.

 

Des attentes réalistes

Pour franchir une étape supplémentaire, les scientifiques devront relever de nombreux défis. « Il faudra trouver un moyen de contourner les résistances primaires qui rendent les immunothérapies inopérantes chez certains patients, soit en les combinant entre elles, soit en les associant à d’autres traitements », explique le Pr Barlesi. Parmi d’autres enjeux, la difficulté consistera notamment à mieux contrôler la maladie. A l’instar des CAR-T cells, le développement des thérapies cellulaires et de nouvelles thérapies ciblées devraient y contribuer. De toute évidence, l’anticipation sera l’un des maîtres-mots de la transformation. « Nous devrons être capables de créer des avatars d’une tumeur qui nous permettront de tester et d’identifier les solutions thérapeutiques les plus adaptées à chaque patient. Nous devrons agir en amont du traitement pour optimiser ses chances de réussite. » Longtemps négligée, la gestion de l’après-cancer sera également une voie de progrès majeure, en particulier chez les enfants. L’objectif est limpide : minimiser l’impact des traitements et de la maladie pour permettre aux patients de vivre le plus longtemps possible… dans les meilleures conditions possibles. Pour atteindre cet idéal, plusieurs freins devront être levés. « L’interdisciplinarité sera le premier moteur de l’innovation de rupture. Le croisement des expériences et des expertises sera notre force », assure Fabrice Barlesi.

 

Des enjeux financiers majeurs

Comme souvent, l’investissement sera le moteur du changement. « L’impulsion pourra être donnée par les Etats ou les grandes institutions académiques, mais elle devra être impérativement soutenue par des financements privés et la philanthropie », commente Rudi Van Den Eynde, Head of Thematic Global Equity. De plus en plus pointus, les traitements contre le cancer nécessiteront des moyens financiers renforcés pour stimuler la recherche. Hétérogénéité des maladies oblige, elle se concentrera davantage sur des sous-groupes de patients, non sans accroître le coût des programmes lancés. Indispensables, les partenariats public-privé ne suffiront pas. « Les fonds d’investissement devront apporter leur contribution pour faciliter la découverte et accompagner la diffusion des nouveaux médicaments. » Entre autres exemples, il cite notamment le cluster de Boston, qui incarne « la voie à suivre ». Gage de rapidité et d’efficacité, cette émulation reste toutefois soumise à condition : « Plus ouverts aux opportunités dans le secteur de la santé, les opérateurs financiers devront accepter une prise de risque inhérente à toute recherche scientifique. Pour alléger le poids de cette incertitude, ils devront s’appuyer sur des avis spécialisés. La confiance sera un paramètre déterminant dans la décision d’investissement. » Une chose est sûre : les mondes académique, industriel et financier devront coopérer plus étroitement pour le bien commun. Plutôt optimistes, le Pr Barlesi et Rudi Van Den Eynde croient fermement à la théorie du décloisonnement dans l’intérêt des patients.

 

La voie de la guérison

Longtemps considérée comme une maladie incurable, le cancer pourrait devenir une "simple" maladie chronique. A la faveur des progrès thérapeutiques annoncés, son éradication peut-elle être envisagée à moyen terme ? « La guérison, au sens strict du terme, paraît totalement illusoire. La maladie pourrait néanmoins devenir un accident de la vie que l’on parviendrait à surmonter dans la majorité des cas. Nous arrivons actuellement à guérir près de la moitié des cancers. Cette proportion pourrait atteindre les deux tiers d’ici à la moitié du siècle », annonce le Pr Barlesi. Au-delà des seuls traitements médicamenteux, la prévention et l’éducation joueront un rôle prépondérant dans le processus décrit. « Pour parvenir à l’objectif, la lutte contre la tabagisme, l’alcoolémie ou la malnutrition devra être appuyée par des politiques publiques plus volontaristes. La systématisation de la vaccination contre le cancer du col de l’utérus devra s’inscrire dans cette même logique. » Le dépistage précoce sera également un levier critique. « Plus tôt nous parviendrons à détecter la maladie, mieux nous arriverons à la soigner ! A tout le moins, c’est la garantie d’un retour à la société plus rapide et d’une espérance de vie plus longue ». Dans ce domaine, l’intelligence artificielle pourrait à la fois permettre de nourrir la connaissance scientifique et d’affiner la précision du diagnostic. « La simplicité, l’accessibilité et l’équité seront trois variables déterminantes pour susciter l’adhésion des patients », conclut Fabrice Barlesi.

Partenaire du projet PRISM, le centre national de médecine de précision lancé par Gustave Roussy, l’Université Paris-Saclay, CentraleSupélec, l’Inserm, rejoints par Unicancer et l’ARC, Candriam apportera sa contribution à la lutte contre le cancer. Par l’intermédiaire de son réseau d’experts, il ciblera les développements, les projets et les solutions les plus utiles à la collectivité.

 

 

Journée mondiale du cancer : le défi de la (re)connaissance

Pour des soins plus justes ! Cette année, la journée mondiale du cancer sera centrée sur la compréhension et la reconnaissance des iniquités dans la prise en charge de la maladie. Cet événement sera notamment l’occasion de remettre en question ce statu quo qui se traduit par la perte de trop nombreuses vies humaines. Traitement, prévention, dépistage… Un accent particulier sera porté sur l’accès aux services de santé essentiels qui varie ostensiblement selon les revenus, le niveau d’instruction et la situation géographique. Outre la réduction des discriminations liées à l’origine ethnique, au sexe, à l’orientation sexuelle, aux handicaps et aux modes de vie, la communauté internationale devra également relever le défi de la connaissance. « L’information, la sensibilisation et l’éducation des populations, en particulier des plus jeunes, seront des leviers majeurs dans la lutte contre le cancer », rappelle le Pr Fabrice Barlesi, directeur général de Gustave Roussy.

 

 

Test sanguin : une découverte très encourageante

C’est une grande première. Des chercheurs de l’université d’Oxford* sont parvenus à développer un test sanguin susceptible de détecter précocement n’importe quel cancer chez des personnes présentant des symptômes inexpliqués, comme la perte de poids ou la fatigue. Incapable d’identifier le type de la tumeur, cet outil permettrait néanmoins de repérer la présence éventuelle de métastases avec une efficacité de 94 %. Basé sur l’analyse métabolomique par résonance magnétique nucléaire, utilisée avec succès dans le dépistage de la sclérose en plaques, il a été testé sur des échantillons sanguins fournis par 300 patients. La méthode doit désormais être expérimentée à plus grande échelle pour confirmer cette promesse.

(*) « Metabolomic biomarkers in blood samples identify cancers in a mixed population of patients with nonspecific symptoms », Clinical Cancer Research (janvier 2022).

 


1« Global cancer statistics 2020 : GLOBOCAN estimates of incidence and mortality worldwide for 36 cancers in 185 countries », International agency for research on cancer (décembre 2020).

2« Assessing national capacity for the prevention and control of noncommunicable diseases : Report of the 2019 global survey », World health organization (mars 2020).

3« Global costs, health benefits, and economic benefits of scaling up treatment and imaging modalities for survival of 11 cancers: a simulation-based analysis », The Lancet Oncology (mars 2021).